Delhi Capitals end 13 years of waiting !

For the very first time Delhi Capitals advanced to the final in the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The franchise has mitigated it’s 13 years lamentation to reach in the final. The Shreyas Iyer led Delhi won the toss and elected to field. While Batting in the first innings, Delhi scored 169 runs. 
All rounder Marcus Stoinis gave Delhi a good start with the ball after he was fantastic with the bat. Meanwhile, Kagiso Rabada bowled out David Warner in the second over. Stoinis bowled his first over and took two wickets in the same over. He took the wickets of Priyam Garg and Manish Pandey.
Chasing the target , Hyderabad lost 3 wickets for 44 runs and fell under great pressure. That’s why Williamson came in with the bat and once again proved why he is best at handling pressure. He was accompanied by Jason Holder in the begginging. The duo averaged 47 runs. Holder’s contribution was 11 runs off 15 balls. Holder went back after being the victim of Akshar Patel.
After Holder went away, youngster Abdul Samad gave Williamson a worthy company. They added 58 runs on the board. Stoinis came to a breakthrough just when their pairing was getting terrible. Williamson scored 6 runs before becoming the third victim of this Aussie star. He had four fours and six sixes in his 45-ball innings.



Youngster Samad, who was dreaming of winning for Hyderabad, was dismissed for 33 runs. He had two fours and sixes in his 18-ball innings. Rabada also returned Rashid Khan with the next ball. The Proteas pacer took the wicket of Srivastava Goswami with one ball to spare despite missing a hat-trick. Rabada took four wickets.



Hyderabad needed 22 runs in the last over to reach the final. Enrique Nortje spent only 5 runs. Therefore, Delhi went to the final with a victory of 16 runs. Earlier, the Delhi Capitals scored 189 runs in the allotted 20 overs. Shikhar Dhawan and Marcus Stones scored 6 runs in the opening match. Rashid Khan broke the tie by returning Stones, who scored 36 off 26 balls. Captain Shreyash Iyer added 40 runs with Dhawan for the second wicket. He scored 21 runs.



Excluded West Indies star in previous match Shimran Hetmeyer joined Dhawan in scoring a quick run. They scored a pair of 52 runs. When Dhawan was out for 6 runs, Hetmeyer continued. Before Sandwip Sharma fell victim, he hit 6 fours and 2 sixes. Hetmeyer was unbeaten in a tornado innings of 42 off 22 balls. He had 4 fours and a six in his innings. Rashid, Sandwip and Natarajan took one wicket each for Hyderabad.
Short score
Delhi Capitals 189/3 (20 overs)
Dhawan 6, Hetmeyer 42 *, Stones 37, Iyer 21; Rashid 1/26;
Sunrisers Hyderabad 162/7 (20 overs)
Williamson 66, Samad 33;
Rabada 4/29, Stones 3/26,
Result : Delhi Capitals won the final by 16 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *